Al Taglio : Pizza au poids et à la coupe


A glance at our history

Al Taglio wasn't made in a day...

  • 997


    We need to go back a bit, to the end of the middle ages actually, to see how the word ‘pizza’ appeared. Etymologists attribute its origin to either the High German word ‘bizzo’ meaning ‘piece of bread’, or ‘pitta’ from the Greek. What is clear is that when the tomato arrived in Europe from South America in the 16th century, things started happening. The tomato settled in Madrid first, and then moved onto Naples–the birthplace of the modern pizza.

  • 1830


    The first pizzeria in the world, Port Alba, opens in Naples. Napolitanos start having animated discussions about the different ways of preparing a pizza garnished with tomatoes, mozzarella and anchovies. Port Alba, an institution, is still operating today.

  • 1889


    Just after the unification of Italy, Queen Marguerite visits Naples. In her honor, the chef Raffaele Esposito, of the celebrated Pizzeria de la Salita Sant’Anna di Palazzo– re-babtized as Pizzeria Brandi as it’s still known today–created the Margherita, a pizza garnished with mozzarella, fresh basil and tomatoes. Gloriously representing the green, white and red of the Italian flag, this pizza still retains an exalted status.

  • 1950


    In Rome, artisan bakers looking to attract a new clientele invent pizza “al taglio” (literally “to size”). It’s pizza that comes in squares that are priced by weight. Cooked on a rectangular pan, the crust is light, tasty and crunchy. Buonissimo!

  • 1962


    Birth of Olivier Papillon, the creator of the Al Taglio pizzerias in Paris. Bambino, he spends every vacation at the home of his grandparents amongst the wheat fields of a small village deep in Seine-et-Marne. This is where he has come to appreciate great bread and exceptional local products.

  • 2006


    After 25 years in the journalism world as art director for publications like Globe Magazine, Nova Mag, Biba and Philosophie Magazine, Olivier Papillon answers an inner calling to take a new path, getting his master baker diploma (CAP) in 2007. It’s the start of a new life. Not la dolce vita, but almost.

  • 2008


    Al Taglio Popincourt opens its doors at 2 bis, rue Neuve-Popincourt. In December, Le Fooding gives it the “best little luxury” award for our potato and truffle cream pizza.

  • 2011


    Farniente is something Al Taglio leaves to its customers. This year, Olivier Papillon doubles up, opening a second store in Paris at 27, rue de Saintonge, in the heart of the Marais. Quality, authenticity, originality and savoir-faire are always on the menu. Buon appetito !


Choose, taste, share

Magic fingers

Al Taglio means rectangular sections of pizza garnished with fresh, authentic products of quality imported from various regions of Italy. The savoir-faire of our Pizzaioli is regularly enhanced by Italian master bakers who share their latest techniques.
You won’t find the standard round Neapolitan pizza at our place. Here, you choose which pizza you want, and how big a piece of it you’d like. Then, it’s cut, weighed and served on a wooden platter. It’s about getting a taste of each pizza that appeals to you.
The array of fresh pizzas on display is meant to be tempting. Choose according to your tastes and appetite, and then eat at large tables in a convivial atmosphere.
Throughout the evening, fresh pizzas emerge, inviting you to sample to your heart’s delight, ranging from the classics to some of our more original pizzas with a French touch. Choose, taste, share. La bella vita, no?

Toppings of Quality

All the savoir-faire of Italy in Paris


Without fresh, high-quality toppings brought in from Italy, the savoir-faire of a Pizzaiolo is lost. Al Taglio brings all the right things together in one place.

Our first priority is freshness, and it’s no problemo. Our fruits and vegetables come directly from Rungis every three days.

The entire Italian boot regularly contributes to our transalpine product selection. The north offers up cheeses of incomparable quality like the Talegggio Lombard, creamy as a dream. Sliced meats are produced and aged in Emilia-Romagna, close to Parma. The south distinguishes itself with its premium flour and a mozza di bufala that speaks for itself. High-end items like black truffle cream also make the trip across the Alps to bring you authentic pizza.

Legal notice

Just a little more to read
Web site by Al Taglio, SARL capital 30 000 Euros
505 326 645 RCS Paris – SIRET 505 326
645 00015 – FR 24 505 326 645 000 15 – APE 5610A

2, Rue Neuve Popincourt 75011 Paris – Tél. : +33 1 43 38 12 00
If you have a complaint, please contact

Website hosted by, SARL capital variable
36 rue Saint Cléophas 34000 Montpellier, licensed with RCS Montpellier B434859955.


These guys are amazing!

Top of

Al Taglio : Pizza au poids et à la coupe

Menu
Popincourt
Popincourt
Saintonge
Saintonge

Touchez du doigt notre histoire


Al taglio ne s’est pas faite en un jour...

  • 997

    997

    Il faut remonter loin, plus précisément à la fin du haut Moyen-âge, pour voir apparaitre le mot « pizza ». Les étymologistes attribuent son origine soit au mot « bizzo », un mot haut-allemand, qui signifie « morceau de pain », soit au grec « pitta ». Mais c’est l’arrivée en Europe de la tomate en provenance d’Amérique du Sud, au XVIe siècle, qui déclenche tout. Elle s’implante à Madrid et… à Naples, qui devint le berceau de la pizza moderne !

  • 1830

    1830

    A cette période, on commence à parler d’endroits où le petit peuple napolitain mange des pizzas à un ou deux sous, garnies de coulis de tomates, de mozzarella et d’anchois . Cette année-là, « Port’ Alba », la première pizzeria du monde ouvre ses portes à Naples. Elle est devenue une institution qui existe toujours aujourd’hui.

  • 1889

    1889

    Peu après l’unification de l’Italie, la reine Marguerite visite Naples. En son honneur, Raffaele Esposito, le chef de la célèbre pizzeria de la salita Sant’Anna di Palazzo, rebaptisée aujourd’hui « Pizzeria Brandi », crée la «Margherita» une pizza à base de tomates, de mozzarella, et de basilic frais, aux couleurs du drapeau italien : vert, blanc et rouge. Doucement, la pizza gagne ses lettres de noblesse.

  • 1950

    1950

    A Rome, les artisans boulangers veulent attirer une nouvelle clientèle et inventent la pizza « al taglio » (littéralement, « à la taille »). On achète des parts de forme carré que l’on paie au poids. Cuite sur une plaque rectangulaire, sa pâte est légère, gourmande et croquante. Buonissimo !

  • 1962

    1962

    Naissance d’Olivier Papillon, le créateur des pizzerias Al Taglio à Paris. Bambino, il passe toutes ses vacances chez ses grands-parents au milieu des sons de blé, dans un petit village au fin fond de la Seine-et-Marne. C’est là qu’il prend goût au pain et aux bons produits du terroir.

  • 2006

    2006

    Après 25 ans passés dans le monde de la presse, en tant que directeur artistique de titres comme Globe Magazine, Nova Mag, Biba ou Philosophie Magazine, Olivier Papillon a des envies d’ailleurs et change de vie en réussissant son CAP de boulanger en 2007. C’est le début d’une nouvelle vie, pas la dolce vita mais presque.

  • 2008

    2008

    Al Taglio Popincourt ouvre ses portes au 2 bis, rue Neuve-Popincourt ! En décembre, Le Fooding lui décerne le prix du « meilleur petit luxe », notamment pour sa pizza pommes de terre et crème de truffe.

  • 2011

    2011

    Le farniente, Al Taglio le réserve à ses clients. Cette année-là, Olivier Papillon double la mise et ouvre  une deuxième adresse à Paris, au 27, rue de Saintonge, au cœur du Marais. Qualité, authenticité, originalité et savoir-faire sont toujours au rendez-vous. Buon appetito !

Le Savoir-faire Al Taglio

Une touche de modernité sur un lit de tradition


De l’or au bout des doigts

Al Taglio, ce sont des parts de pizzas rectangulaires garnies de produits de qualité, frais et authentiques, importés du terroir italien. Le savoir-faire de nos pizzaioli est régulièrement renforcé par des meuniers italiens, qui leur transmettent les dernières techniques.
Chez nous, vous ne mangerez pas la pizza ronde napolitaine. Ici, la pizza se déguste au poids et à la coupe sur de petites planchettes de bois. C’est la possibilité de goûter à tout selon ses goûts et ses envies.
A l’intérieur, les pizzas font les belles en vitrine. Selon son goût, son appétit, son envie, c’est le client qui choisit exactement ce qu’il va manger sur de grandes tablées, en toute convivialité. Tout au long de la soirée, les pizzas sont renouvelées, la clientèle peut aller et venir d’une pizza à l’autre, des grands classiques italiens aux plus originales dotées d’une french touch. Choisissez, partagez, dégustez. La bella vita, no ?

Des produits d’exception

Tout le savoir-faire de l’Italie à Paris

al-taglio-origins

Sans ingrédients frais, de première qualité et importés d’Italie, le savoir-faire d’un pizzaiolo n’est rien. Bonne pioche, Al Taglio réunit tout ça dans ses restaurants.

Première obligation, la fraîcheur. Pour ça, no problemo, les fruits et légumes arrivent en direct de Rungis tous les trois jours.

Rayon produits transalpins, c’est toute la botte italienne qui a été mise à contribution. Le nord fournit des fromages d’une qualité incomparable, comme le Taleggio lombard, crémeux à souhait. La charcuterie, elle, est produite et affinée en Emilie-Romagne, près de Parme. Le sud se distingue avec sa farine premium et sa mozza di bufala qu’on ne présente plus. Les produits d’épicerie fine, comme la crème à la truffe noire, traversent eux aussi les Alpes pour vous servir des pizzas authentiques.

Mentions légales

allez, un petit effort…

Site web édité par Al Taglio, SARL au capital de 30 000 €
505 326 645 RCS Paris – SIRET 505 326
645 00015 – FR 24 505 326 645 000 15 – APE 5610A

2, Rue Neuve Popincourt 75011 Paris – Tél. : +33 1 43 38 12 00
Pour toute réclamation contacter contact@altaglio.fr

Site web hébergé par neoDomaine.com, sarl à capital variable sise
36 rue Saint Cléophas 34000 Montpellier, immatriculée au RCS de Montpellier sous le numéro B434859955.

Crédits

ces mecs là sont formidables…

Haut de
page